About Mongolia


Mongolia is a landlocked country located in the East and Central Asia. It is bordered by the Russian Federation to the north and People’s Republic of China to in the west, south and east. Official name: Mongolia 

It has total territory of 1,566,000 sq.km and is listed as the 19th largest country in terms of territory. It joined the United Nations as a member country in 1961.

It had very close relationship with the USSR and was dependent on the Soviet Union in terms of politics and economy.

It transitioned to a democratic and open market economy system in 1990. Mongolia is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic subdivided into 21 provinces and the capital city. 

Mongolia has a population of 3.2 million people. Seventy percent of the population lives in urban settlements and the remaining population are nomadic or semi-nomadic. Seventy percent of the total population has pursued higher education. It has more than 100 universities and institutes. 

The capital of Mongolia is Ulaanbaatar. It is the only city in Mongolia with more than one million residents. Forty percent of the total population lives in the capital city. Ulaanbaatar was founded in 1639, and was originally named Urguu. It has many historic and cultural heritages. Ulaanbaatar is the state, economic and cultural center of Mongolia. 

The majority of the of population are Buddhists (53%), other Mongolians are Muslims, shamans and Christians. There are a total of 234 places of worship in Ulaanbaatar, of which 127 are Buddhist temples, 96 are churches, and 6 are mosques.Gandantegchinlen Monastery is the largest monastery in Ulaanbaatar. 

Economic activity in Mongolia is based on agriculture and mining. Mongolia has extensive mineral deposits and 60 million livestock.   Copper, coal, molybdenum, tin, tungsten, and gold account for a large part of industrial production. As of 2016, GDP increased by 1.4 percent, the unemployment rate is 10.2 percent, and the inflation rate is 0.2 percent.

3.2 Million People
134th most populous country on earth 

21 Provinces
Capital: Ulanbaatar (Time Zone: GMT / UTC 8)
Currency: Tugrug (MNT) 
Languages: Mongolian language

Mongolia is known for its harsh climate. Ulaanbaatar’s average annual temperature is called ° -1.3 ° / fahrenheit 29.7 ° / is the capital of the coldest cities in the world. The average January temperature is minus -26 ° C and in July its an average of 19.5 ° C. Because Mongolia has more than 250 sunny days a year, it is known as “the land of eternal blue sky”.





Сэтгэгдэл байхгүй байна

  • Зочин
    Massajnii gazart uilchleh huchirhiilliin huul bii bolgo
    2017 оны 01 сарын 02
Сонин хачин